Asia Cup Overview

Asia Cup Overview

The 2023 Asia Cup will be the 16th edition of the Asia Cup, with the matches to be played as One Day Internationals (ODIs). The host team of Asia Cup 2023 is Pakistan. The tournament will be played by 6 teams. It is scheduled to be held on 2nd September and 17th September 2023. The list of teams are India, Pakistan, Afghanistan, Kuwait, Hong Kong, UAE, Sri Lanka, Singapore and Bangladesh. 


The very first edition of the tournament was played in 1984 in UAE Sharjah where India Vs Sri Lanka competed with each other. The men in blue were crowned as the winners and brought true meaning to the quote Firsts are always special.” Since the inception of the tournament Team India has been the most successful team in the Asia Cup, having lifted the cup seven times.
Asia Cup was started as a cricket tournament among the Asian Nations by the Asian Cricket Council (ACC). It has been scheduled to be conducted once every 2 years. The three Asian cricketing powers – India, Pakistan & Sri Lanka have been in the league for years proving to be the best in the game. India has won 7 times, Sri Lanka 6 times & Pakistan 2 times.


Since the start of this tournament, we have had 15 editions, including 13 ODI tournaments & 2 T20 tournaments. 

Most Successful Cricketers In The Asia Cup Tournament History

Navjot Singh Sidhu (IND) & Arjuna Ranatunga (SL) has won the maximum “Man of the Tournament” awards in the Asia Cup. They have both won the “Man of the Series” in Asia Cup twice – Sidhu in 1988 & 1995; Ranatunga in 1986 & 1997.


If you’ve come to the end of this blog, a big thank you. Hope we’ve given you the desired insights and don’t forget to place your bets on and follow us on our instagram handle : trishulbook_  and our whatsapp link :

No Comments

Post A Comment